MENU

WisconsinInformation.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.

Renewing Your Wisconsin Driver License

Drivers license renewal in Wisconsin is one important responsibility state residents must perform. Drivers who do not renew drivers license credentials by the expiration date can face financial or legal penalties, including the suspension of driving privileges. Drivers should receive a driving license renewal notice in the mail before the license’s expiration date. Motorists can then visit a DMV location to submit the drivers license renewal fee and receive their temporary license receipt. Wisconsin motorists can continue reading below for more information on driver license renewal with the WI DMV.

Drivers license renewal in Wisconsin is one important responsibility state residents must perform. Drivers who do not renew drivers license credentials by the expiration date can face financial or legal penalties, including the suspension of driving privileges. Drivers should receive a driving license renewal notice in the mail before the license’s expiration date. Motorists can then visit a DMV location to submit the drivers license renewal fee and receive their temporary license receipt. Wisconsin motorists can continue reading below for more information on driver license renewal with the WI DMV.

How to Renew Drivers Licenses in Person

Your only option in renewing a WI drivers license is in person at a local DMV. You cannot renew drivers license credentials online or by mail. Keep in mind that in the state of Wisconsin, your probationary Class D drivers license will expire every two years on your birthday, while your regular Class D driving license will expire every three years on your date of birth. As a courtesy, the DOT will mail a notification reminding your to renew your license to drive between 45 and 60 days before your birthday.

Renewal of a driving license in WI is as follows:

  • Regular Class D drivers license: Within one year of license expiration.
  • Probationary Class D drivers license: Within 90 days of driver license expiration.

Take the proper steps to renew driving licenses seamlessly at the Wisconsin DMV customer service center nearest you. When scheduling a visit for your drivers license renewal, be prepared to:

  • Have a new drivers license picture taken
  • Go through a vision screening
  • Provide proof of legal presence status in the U.S. (if you are not a citizen)
  • Provide proof of name change (if applicable)
  • Complete form MV3001, Driver License Application
  • Pay the designated, $34 drivers license renewal fee (a $5 late fee will be added after your birthday)

Note: Your renewed Wisconsin driver license will be mailed to you within 10 days of application. In the meantime, the WI DOT will provide you with a paper driving receipt, which is valid for 45 days from issuance.

How to Renew a Drivers License While Out-of-State

If you are out-of-state during the time that your drivers license renewal approaches, you have the option to renew drivers licenses by mail in Wisconsin. In order to renew drivers licenses by mail, you must have a valid Social Security Number on file.

Keep in mind, your drivers license renewal request by mail will not process if:

  • Your current or most recent WI drivers license is labeled “valid without photo”
  • You have processed a previous drivers license renewal by mail or through a past online system.

In order to carry out your by-mail drivers license renewal, note the following steps:

  • Write a letter stating why you left the state and when, along with your projected return
  • Proof of identity (a photo copy is accepted)
  • Proof of residency with your name and permanent Wisconsin address (photo copies are acceptable)
  • Complete the Wisconsin Driver License Application (form MV3001)
  • Make note of your temporary, out-of-state mailing address
  • Provide proof of vision exam within the past 90 days on MV3030V, Certificate of Vision Examination by Competent Authority.
  • A check or money order to “Registration Fee Trust” with the $34 fee
    • Add a $5 late fee if you renew a drivers license after your birthday

Note: Once your application is processed, your new WI drivers license will be sent to the out-of-state address listed.